Author Topic: Quick 401(k) checkup: Very low income. Any reason to not go 100% Roth?  (Read 2208 times)

dustbreeding

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello everyone! I'm relatively new to Mustachianism (although definitely not new to frugality). The blog has been amazingly helpful from a big picture standpoint, and just recently learned that these forums are great from a minute detail standpoint. This, along with a multitude of other factors, has given me the kick I need to really commit to investing in my future and becoming FI early, and hopefully VERY early.

Without further ado, here is the question: I only make around $25k a year (well below the next tax bracket, 25% at $37k), and I live in a state with no income tax (Nevada). Although the pay is dreadful and I'm working on getting out, the company that I currently work for matches 100% up to 6% and the custodian service (T. Rowe Price) recently began to allow their users to diversify between Roth and traditional contributions into the 401(k), at an allocation of your choice. My current contributions to this plan are 35% of my paycheck going in Roth, and 25% going in traditional. The answer seems quite obvious to me, but I just wanted to double check before I made any long-ish term decisions: I should be contributing 100% Roth due to a mixture of my low income and lack of state income tax, correct?

I chose the 35/25 split somewhat sheepishly, seeing the benefits of Roth contributions, but also seeing many informational sources treat the Roth choice as a wary exception, rather than a confidently superior choice (given, the people who were writing about it, as well as their colleagues, are almost surely well into higher tax brackets than me and would probably benefit more from the tax-advantage of traditional contributions).

Thank you everyone, and sorry for the noob question!

---