Author Topic: Questions on Investment Order  (Read 2798 times)

pompom12

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Questions on Investment Order
« on: January 25, 2018, 09:02:24 PM »
Hello everyone!

First post here in the forum. I've been a silent reader for years though!

I did my homework and read up on the investment options & stock series across multiple platforms including MMM. I found the community here to be extremely helpful and positive. Since I'm new at investing, I'd love some opinions from veteran investors on whether my plan sounds right. My goal is simply to build my asset so I can retire early if I want to.

Information about me
28 y.o. no debt. 60k annual income. extremely low spending rate. I have about 80k in savings.

I currently do not have any retirement accounts. I know I'm quite late in the game.

My plan is to
1. Open a HSA account (my current health insurance plan is not HSA-qualified, so I will wait until November 2018 to change my plan into a HSA-qualified one. Then I'll max out my 2018 contribution. Any suggestion on where I should open the HSA, and whether I can invest the balance with Vangard?)
2. Open a traditional IRA now (Max out my 2017 contribution + potentially 2018 contribution). I will open and invest through Vanguard
3. Max out 401k (my employer will start offering 401k in Q1 2018 with no match. No idea which company they will go with yet nor the available investing options. If the company they choose and expense ratio aren't too bad, I plan to max it out)
4. Invest extra in a taxable account with Vangard, specifically VTSAX

In my case, it makes sense to open and max my own traditional IRA before maxing out 401k since the expense ratio might be lower and I have the freedom to choose to invest with Vangard. Is that correct? How does my plan look? I appreciate any help I can get! If I miss or overlook anything, please let me know.

« Last Edit: January 25, 2018, 09:04:23 PM by pompom12 »

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Questions on Investment Order