Author Topic: Questions about investing in canada  (Read 3868 times)

taularian

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Questions about investing in canada
« on: June 28, 2015, 07:32:02 PM »
Hi, i'm new here and i'm new to investing.  Here is my situation, i'm 30, will have about 40 000$ to invest, no real debt except low interest student loan, and might want to buy a house in about 3 years.  I win around 40k/50k a years that will keep increasing.

After reading about investing on a few websites, i would probably invest in some vanguard ETF trought questrade in a TFSA, so i could have all the money ready to buy a house. I will probably be about to save at least 10 000$/year more so i might not need all my money for a cashdown, and i might not buy a house (will depend on the price at that time).

Is vanguard ETF a good idea for such a short time investment (2 to 3 years)?
Some like canadiancouchpotato say that you should not invest in ETF if you do not have at least 50K? why?

if anyway one want to guide me or give me more advice, feel free to do so!

Thank!

(Really sorry for my english.)

Dee

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Questions about investing in canada
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2015, 07:59:04 PM »
Hi taularian,

I'm far from an expert, but I thought I would nonetheless try to get things rolling by offering the beginnings of a response to your questions...

For short-term holdings, I think the advice is generally that you shouldn't be invested in *stocks* because the stock market is volatile... while its overall direction has always been on the rise over the long term, short term, it can go down significantly.

So I would think that the advice about the length of your investment doesn't so much depend on whether something is an ETF or not, but whether it's an investment in stocks or not. Currently, Vanguard Canada does appear to offer a few bond ETFs: https://www.vanguardcanada.ca/individual/etfs/etfs.htm(see "fixed income" ETFs).