Author Topic: Question on short term investing  (Read 4241 times)

epaulson10

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question on short term investing
« on: February 11, 2013, 12:34:36 PM »
I've been working on cutting back my spending and making other financial improvements in my life this year. I moved all of the money I had in savings accounts earning nearly zero interest into an Ally high yield account. However, it still kills me that I'm only earning .9% interest on that money. I have really wanted to get into investing for a while but have been held back because I am a college student who will be graduating in a year and a half. Here are my details:

I have about $10,000 cash in savings.
I have about $4,750 in mutual funds (this was a college savings fund my late grandfather started for me that I haven't touched).
I am on basically a full ride scholarship, so I have no student debt to pay down.
The above scholarship is an ROTC scholarship, so after I graduate I will have a guaranteed job in the military.
I have $3000 in credit on two credit cards.
I have a paid off car.

The main reason I have held off of investing my liquid assets is that I plan on getting married in about a year and a half. I read MMM's article on frugal weddings, but it is one life event that I have always looked forward too and definitely want to have a nice ceremony/reception. Also, although I know the military will take care of me when I move to my first assignment, I want to have some funds around to pay for unexpected expenses in that process.

My main question then is, would it be worth my while to open an investment account with Vanguard if I may need to withdraw some (or possibly all) of it a year and a half to two years from now? I really want to get better returns on my money, I am just afraid of it not being liquid.

lauren_knows

• Pencil Stache
  • Happiness is a choice
    • The Crowdsourced FIRE simulator
Re: Question on short term investing
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 12:47:13 PM »