Author Topic: Question about maxing 401/403  (Read 2328 times)

Driko

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question about maxing 401/403
« on: April 30, 2016, 09:23:34 PM »
So my current situation is I am 31 years old. I make about 80-90k per year. I am new in my career field so my yearly salary will only go up over time. Currently I have been maxing my 403b 18k and maxing my Roth IRA at 5500. Everything else I have been throwing in my taxable brokerage. Currently I am at:

403 27k
roth 12k
taxable 5k

I have been following the advice here to max out these accounts and I think I would always max the roth regardless, but I started thinking and eventually I would like to have multi-family properties. My income will only go up over the years and I think it is plausible that I may make more in my 60s than I am currently making which would make the 403 take more of a tax hit which would defeat the purpose. Also, if I have most of my funds in the taxable I could pull them out in a few years to purchase a multi-family and start venturing off into real estate. I feel like mathematically there is a right answer but the variables seem confusing and I am not sure what the right path is. Any advice would be appreciated! :)

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Question about maxing 401/403
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2016, 09:45:12 PM »
I feel like mathematically there is a right answer but the variables seem confusing and I am not sure what the right path is.
It boils down to what percentage you would save on traditional contributions today, vs. the percentage you would have to pay on withdrawal - again, due to those traditional contributions.

If a person did all Roth and had no other source of income in retirement, that person would be paying 0% on withdrawal - so some traditional would have been better.

If a person did all traditional, plus had a pension, rental income, etc., and was paying a higher rate in retirement than while working, some Roth would have been better.