Author Topic: Question about investing in bonds  (Read 3964 times)

Tim1965

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Question about investing in bonds
« on: January 03, 2015, 02:27:20 PM »
Hi, all, relative newbie here. I want to allocate about 20 percent of my portfolio in bonds. And yet I keep hearing that as interest rates go up, bonds will go down.

Given that interest rates will likely start going up this year, and continue to do so for several years, should I keep that 20 percent in cash, and then find a good bond index fund in 2017 or '18? If I invest in bonds now, aren't I pretty much guaranteed to lose money over the next few years?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

wtjbatman

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Question about investing in bonds
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2015, 03:59:44 PM »
No. You should put that 20% into bonds now. At the beginning of 2014 every analyst said interests rates would go up, which then means bond funds would go down, right? In 2014 interest rates didn't go up, and Vanguard's Total Bond Fund gained 5.89% on the year. In the last ten years, Vanguard's Total Bond Fund has only lost value once, and it wasn't 2008 or 2009.

The only way you are guaranteed to lose money is if you hold cash for the next two or three years and your money loses its value due to inflation.

trailrated

• Handlebar Stache
  • a smooth sea never made a skilled sailor
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2015, 04:18:24 PM »
No. You should put that 20% into bonds now. At the beginning of 2014 every analyst said interests rates would go up, which then means bond funds would go down, right? In 2014 interest rates didn't go up, and Vanguard's Total Bond Fund gained 5.89% on the year. In the last ten years, Vanguard's Total Bond Fund has only lost value once, and it wasn't 2008 or 2009.

The only way you are guaranteed to lose money is if you hold cash for the next two or three years and your money loses its value due to inflation.