Author Topic: PMI or Investing?  (Read 16636 times)

mrgrump

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
PMI or Investing?
« on: January 19, 2014, 04:42:37 PM »
Hello- First time forum reader but I have read all of the blog posts and started my own blog as a result of MMM. However, I am pretty new to investing / having my hair on fire to get out debt. I was writing to see what you guys think we could do better with our savings/investments.

Liabilities
$17,000 car loan ($450/month payment) on 2012 Honda CR-V @ 0%
$312,700 mortgage ($2,400***/month payment) at @ 4.25% 
***This payment includes $155 pmi, insurance, taxes, p&i) we need to pay off $46,500 to get rid of PMI.

Assets
$47,000 Wifes 401k
$36,000 Wifes Profit Sharing
$28,000 My 401k
$15,000 To invest/keep on hand.
$6,000 rainy day fund (6 weeks expenses)
$14,500 2011 Honda Accord (Paid Off)
$1,500 College fund for our 1 year old son
$1,500 brokerage account at Scottrade.

Current Savings:
$850/month into my wifes 401k
*I currently stay at home with the boy so no 401k contributions for me.
$650/month EXTRA on the mortgage
$100/month into my sons college fund.

We currently save additional $700 to $900 a month extra we intend to put use on the mortgage or investing.

We currently have about $15,000 to invest.

Do we take this money and pay down our mortgage getting us closer to eliminating PMI? (My Vote)
Open a Vanguard Account and invest the money in index funds? (rolling over the Scottrade account eventually)
Pay off the CRV freeing up $450/month to put towards house (the car is at 0% interest, I don't think this is are best move)
Do we get really crazy and cash out my 401k money to pay down the house and avoid PMI?
Do we cash in the small Scottrade account to put towards the debt?

Questions about savings plan
Do we re-allocate any of the savings to other sections? For example increase 401k contributions and decrease college fund contributions?
Do we pay down pmi or max out my wifes 401k?

Let me know what you guys think. Thanks!