Author Topic: Please teach me about TSLA  (Read 10529 times)

LWYRUP

• Handlebar Stache
Please teach me about TSLA
« on: August 17, 2020, 10:13:33 AM »

So TSLA today has a P/E ratio of $917.2.  My understanding of this is that this means you need to pay $917.2 to get one dollar of earnings. 

Maybe this is why I am a real estate lawyer and not a finance or tech genius, but I'd want some sort of reasonable expectation of return on my investment.  I could see see investing in a high growth company with a P/E of like 40 or 50, but $917.2? 

Does this mean the market expectation is basically that TSLA is going to quickly become the largest car company in the world?

For those that currently own TSLA, what is the cap on how high you think it can go?

I am solidly team VTSAX so I have no specific dog in this race but I don't really understand what's going on and am wondering if I just have no vision or if this is a "bubble indicator" so to speak. 

Montecarlo

• Pencil Stache
Re: Please teach me about TSLA
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2020, 10:20:52 AM »
I did some rough math a while back.  It seemed the valuation makes sense if there’s a reasonable chance to dominate the us auto market, plus they have solar and trucking divisions as well that are largely ignored.

That being said, the space they are in is highly competitive and imo will be commoditized.  I am on the side that says Tesla is way overvalued, but if I could pick winners I’d probably be with Russian models on a private island, and not typing this out.

Dancin'Dog

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2020, 10:28:54 AM »
Cathy Wood of ARK funds invests heavily in TSLA.  You can listen to her on YouTube about her thoughts about TSLA.  Her funds have been at the top of the ETF world since inception in 2015.  The ARK funds that hold TSLA limit their individual holdings of any one stock to 10%, so they have be selling off TSLA regularly to comply.  ARKW is up 67+% YTD.