Author Topic: Please help a newbie  (Read 4986 times)

pumen

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Please help a newbie
« on: October 26, 2015, 05:18:05 PM »
Hi. I am very glad I found this forum. I am fairly new to the investment and will really appreciate any advice.

I live outside the US, in a relatively low cost of living country in the Eastern Europe. I have a well paying and relatively stable job (considering the average wages in this country). I live quite frugally with monthly spending of no more than $2500 and am a good saver. I have no debt. I have been saving money to buy my own house; however, opted not to buy, so I am all in cash, which is sitting in the savings accounts, earning nothing. The reason I have not been investing is perhaps my lack of knowledge (being outside the US is not really helpful also) and very uncertain economic situation. However, I also understand that I need to start some investing, otherwise inflation will eat everything. So any advice here will be appreciated.

My main concern (and has been in the past few years) is whether now is the right time to buy. I personally believe equity markets are significantly overvalued due to the vast amounts of cheap/printed money and major correction is on its way (however, I had similar thoughts in the past years as well, so due to being afraid, missed a golden opportunity to significantly increase my net worth!). I felt that what has happened in August and September was a major correction starting and decided that I will start buying if stocks go down at least 25-30%; yet, the markets came back and are now again on track to reach all time high. I still believe there are no fundamental reasons for such amazing stock market growth in the past few years , the only reasons - QE and other government policies.