Author Topic: Platform fro VTSAX or VTSMX for Non-US Citizen  (Read 3169 times)

Rob66

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Platform fro VTSAX or VTSMX for Non-US Citizen
« on: October 27, 2017, 10:12:03 AM »
Dear all Mustachians! I need your advise.

I am a non-us citizen and in desperate need to find out where and with who I can invest in VTSAX or VTSMX with. I have done alot of research on various brokers and made many calls and non seem to offer these specific funds for non-US citizens. The main reason is that I would like this to be a long term investment and therefore aim to invest the money and let it sit without actively having to trade (with a few top ups throughout the year).

I am able to make the minumum investment of both funds and so would like any suggestions.

I look forward to hearing the thoughts.

PS: I am new to the platform and am excited to hear thoughts from the community.

TomTX

• Walrus Stache
Re: Platform fro VTSAX or VTSMX for Non-US Citizen
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2017, 03:58:31 PM »
How about just buying VTI? It's actively traded rather than you needing to sign up with Vanguard.

Rob66

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2017, 11:39:54 PM »
Thanks for the response @TomTX.

I have considered VTI but am unsure as to how much activity I have to be involved in with this. I know with the VTSAX and VTSMX it takes the final days prices and I dont really have to do any trading myself. My objective is to invest and not touch it, say until retirement (with the hope of adding more money throughout the year).

Would you say VTI offers similar benefits to to these mutual funds? but I assume I would have to actively trade? which I dont have much knowledge about.

Look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Heckler

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2017, 01:55:32 AM »
https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/snapshot?FundIntExt=INT&FundId=0085

"Also available as a lower-cost Admiral™ Shares mutual fund and an ETF."