Author Topic: Pay off rentals early?  (Read 4064 times)

FrugalSaver

• Pencil Stache
Pay off rentals early?
« on: December 28, 2016, 01:23:19 AM »
I'm fairly new to rental properties and welcome any advice on these options.

I also was curious about pros / cons of paying off these properties early.

I'm considering 3 main options in no particular order:

1) pay them out over 30 years

2) take 100% of profits from monthly rents to pay down the note as quickly as possible (typically that would reduce the layoff period to 7-9 years from date of the loan inception)

3) pay 100% of profits against the note PLUS additional funds in order to pay off the note even sooner.

Other than the obvious benefit of paying less money in interest, are there other reasons or tax benefits to not pay them down quicker?  Is there a reason option 2 would be preferred over option 3 or vice Versa? 

The other obvious benefit is leverage and gathering more rentals into the portfolio so there's certainly pros / cons but beyond that pro id like to learn more about the other tax advantages and how paying early may affect depreciation and if that's a negative, etc.

K-ice

• Pencil Stache
Re: Pay off rentals early?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 01:44:52 AM »
Historically, mathamatically #1 is the best as long as you invest the money you would have used in 2 & 3 into ETF etc.

So I think it becomes more of a question of your investing character.

Are you just a "frugal saver" or also a "frugal investor"

If you are a regular knowledgeable investor do 1. If you let your savings stock pile in a savings account do 2 or 3.

If you blow most of your extra cash on consumer goods, which I doubt, definitely do 3.

I know some very successful real-estate investors, who don't touch stocks, who do 3.