Author Topic: Passive income question  (Read 13473 times)

Cornbread OMalley

• Handlebar Stache
Passive income question
« on: October 27, 2015, 08:16:27 AM »
Hello, all. I’m a newbie on this forum having discovered it through a friend. I did not know about the MMM site until last month.  I’ve been practicing the MMM principles for all of my adult life but am always looking to improve in all aspects.  I’m working toward my FIRE aspirations and look to gain insight from others doing the same.  I didn’t know if my question fit into the ‘Taxes’ or the ‘Investor Alley’ so I put it in the ‘Investor Alley’ because my original purpose was to gain passive income (I learned quickly that the taxes part of passive income followed in immediate succession).

I was able to contribute to my tax-advantaged accounts and max’d them out.  The extra cash I had I started funding taxable portfolio that I pinned my passive income hopes on.  It took many years before the portfolio returned an amount worth talking about.  In 2012, the portfolio returned $700; in 2013 $10000; in 2014 $23000.

My taxable portfolio consists of:
1)  Large-cap domestic index fund
2)  Tax-managed small-cap fund
3)  Actively managed small-cap fund
4)  International stock index fund
5)  Real estate investment trust index fund

In 2014, the index funds and tax-managed fund gave me $8500 in dividends.  The actively managed fund gave me $12500 in long-term capital gains distributions.  The dividends and capital gains I all reinvested.  Eventually, I want to use the dividends and all capital gains as income.  Most of what I’ve read deals with investing for dividend income.  My tax bill also increased yearly because of estimated taxes.

Should I keep the actively-managed fund and continue paying the ever-increasing estimated tax?

Tjat

• Pencil Stache
Re: Passive income question
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2015, 08:26:28 AM »