Author Topic: Passive(Almost) Income  (Read 14846 times)

Scuba Stache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Passive(Almost) Income
« on: March 05, 2012, 08:47:43 PM »
I am looking for some investments / businesses that can be operated mostly passive. I have a full time day job, but would be willing to put in time on the weekends to create gains that would beat a stock portfolio ROI. I have looked down this path before and almost purchased some private ATM machines that could be stocked once or twice a month for incredible passive income, but I was shut down as my day job is in finance industry. (interesting topic btw if you have questions about ATMs)

Background:
25 years old
income ~75k yr
currently 25k cash I'd like to invest in this type of weekend warrior passive income scheme, but more would follow if profitable.
I have 401k, Roth IRA, and tax account with a balanced stock portfolio

I feel I don't have enough cash to get into rental homes yet, so I am trying to find smaller investments.
Trying to speed up FI , any ideas?

Mike Key

• Stubble
  • Entrepreneur & Adventure Seeker
    • Tiny House - Big Backyard
Re: Passive(Almost) Income
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 08:50:16 PM »
You totally have enough cash to get into rentals, so long as you are not afraid of leverage.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2012, 07:58:35 AM »
You totally have enough cash to get into rentals, so long as you are not afraid of leverage.

Agreed - 25k down should easily get you a nice downpayment (unless you are in San Fran or NY or something).

However rentals aren't that passive.  They are... until they aren't.  But with your willing to work weekends and such, it's not a bad mini-part time job, and returns right now are strong.  That again will depend on your location though.

You looked into ATMs, how about vending machines?