Author Topic: Overwhelmed with Options  (Read 1635 times)

gsd802

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Overwhelmed with Options
« on: January 28, 2020, 05:46:19 PM »
Hello,

I have read alot on here and taken advice on articles, looked at many options and just am having a hard time on what my next step should be.  I have been investing for about 6 years now, and was formally with Edward Jones but recently jumped to Vanguard.  Still somewhat uneducated, but trying to learn.  I think I am looking for somewhat of a hands off investment strategy, but at the age of 30 I am willing to have some risk.  Sure I would love to retire early, but I think a goal would be retiring in 25 years at the age of 55.

I have 3 accounts...

Individual which is a VTSAX

ROTH - Max each year.

Traditional 401k. -  No longer have a employer match.

Breaking down my retirement accounts

19% in my VTSAX individual account
39% in my ROTH
42% in my Traditional

I have about 46% of all combined money in cash, but want to keep that available for house deposit.

Both my ROTH and Traditional are in funds that came from Ed Jones (but now currently with vanguard rolled into IRAs).  Vanguard said I would need to sell those funds, get the cash, and then buy into Vanguard Funds.  I believe I want to be either 90/10 or 80/20.  I have looked at the Target Date Funds (VTIVX), Life Strategy Growth Fund (VASGX), and then of course all in with VTSAX.  The first two funds have an expense ratio of 0.14% and 0.15%.  Still much nicer than my close to 2.00% with Ed Jones.

Everyone seems to have different opinions from their personal goals, but does anyone have any advice based on my situation in what funds to invest in?  I want to max my 2020 ROTH immediately.  I really want to get this set up and just let the market do its thing.  I plan on never selling, but when the market goes way down, I do plan on taking some of my available cash and throwing it into an account like my VTSAX.

Thank you!

dandarc

• Walrus Stache