Author Topic: Opening new investment accounts?  (Read 6155 times)

MrSal

• Pencil Stache
Opening new investment accounts?
« on: February 24, 2015, 09:15:57 PM »
Hello everyone,

As I posted before I am fairly new to the US and my wife, not being very knowledgeable regarding finances, it ends up to me to do it all.

I know a lot about markets, since I used to work in a hedge fund in my previous country, although I am not that knowledgeable regarding investment plans here in the US.

We want to open a few retirement accounts, so we can start planning our retirement and so that she doesn't owe uncle Sam so much in taxes.

She is a teacher, and has access to a 403b a 457 from what I know, although the 403b the fund selection is quite bad (high fees and 5.25 commission of signing up...

actually, when I inquired one of the Financial Advisors that works for the school, she said " No there are no low based fees funds... you know, not everyone can do it themselves we need to get paid too... the same way you like to be paid for the work you do" ...

I was actually shocked and speechless... anyhow that's what is available and I am trying to find some options so we can fund some accounts.

According to my researcy my understanding is pretty much this:

- IRA's:

Anyone can open an IRA. It is funded with their own money and you can only withdraw the money at a certain age. Traditional IRA is funded pre tax and you pay taxes at the end with the withdrawals.

Roth is after tax money and you are therefore exempt of taxes at "maturity" so to speak.

She has about 8k in liquidity right now, and about 4k to receive from IRS as well a lump sum payment coming in June of around 7k. I didnt have any income last year for the US tax, but I do have about 50k in liquidity that I want to put to work.

We want to take advantage of opening an account before April so we can deduct it for 2014 tax.

Can we fund both IRA and Roth IRA? If so, what are the limits according to the IRS?