Author Topic: Opened your 1st Index Fund but when to invest in it based on Market Rise/Fall  (Read 2164 times)

Deleuze

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm a newb, so have more newb questions.

Now that i've opened a VTSAX i'm wondering when is the right time to contribute
more to it. For example today the S&P ended high at 2,433.15, would today have
been a good or bad day to invest? Judging from the previous months, it seems
that the S&P has continued to rise, so the opportunity to wait for a day the S&P
will go down does not appear to be in the forecast necessarily.

I'd love to get some perspective on when to contribute more to this fund and
when not to based on the day to day rise & fall of the market.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
Worrying over the daily fluctuations and trying to wait for a down day is market timing. Classic market timing. We've all been a little guilty of it tho. ;)

One of the adages I was told when I started investing is: The best time to invest is 20 years ago. The second best time is right now.

Another one? Time IN the market is better than timing the market. 

Do not try to wait for what the market does day to day or week or month... you're not investing for days or weeks; you're investing for your lifetime, so waiting for moves up and down is just a waste of time. If you're lucky, you may catch the market on a down day and get a few dollars more that day, but it really isn't going to matter over the next decade if you earned a an extra $20 because you waited, and the thing to realize is that time waiting for it to go down might have cost you $25...