Author Topic: Newbie here with basic questions re locating a reputable financial advisor.  (Read 4481 times)

m3110w

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
(If this post belongs in another forum please move as needed. Thanks.)

Hi All,

Financial newbie here with some simple questions. I'm retired with part of my portfolio being managed by a Registered Representative (contract employee) of Lincoln Life group. I don't think he has a fiduciary relationship to me. Most of my funds with him are in various mutual funds with percentage fees around 1% or so. They're averaging about 7% net return per year.

Recently I've been researching ETFs and websites like Betterment.com. From what I can gather, one possibly good option for me is transfer my funds to Betterment.com. Looks like it may have lower percentage fees.

So my main question is what is the best way to locate a reputable independent financial advisor (IFA) who would have fiduciary responsibility to me? My current and only FA was recommended to me by a friend so I've never searched on my own for an IFA. Is there some website(s) or forum for locating a good IFA? Any suggestions most appreciated.

Thanks,

lpep

• Bristles
    • My MMM journal
I don't know if you're going to get many helpful responses, because I think most people on this forum believe that there's no better financial advisor for your own money than yourself. Why not read up on it and take over your own money?

m3110w

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Yep, that is true. I'm now trying to teach myself some of the basics, but I don't have time to do all the detailed research I'd like to do. And sometimes a consultation at the beginning with an expert can save one from common mistakes. For my case one good consultation will probably be worth it. I found the NAPFA website that has some good guidelines.

Aphalite

• Bristles
Hi mellow, welcome, try this website: http://www.napfa.org/

And ask the agents you interview these questions: