Author Topic: Newbie Canadian investor looking for advice  (Read 5636 times)

batbatmanne

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Newbie Canadian investor looking for advice
« on: July 15, 2014, 01:15:25 PM »
Hey guys I have recently been researching how to become financially independent and I am glad to have stumbled into this community. I have just recently graduated university with a bachelor of arts and I have ~$4500 worth of student loan that I need to pay off once I have to start paying interest on it. I also just recently opened an investment account with tangerine (equity growth portfolio) and I put $4500 in that account. This essentially comprises my net worth at the moment. One thing that concerns me is that the account is non-registered which I believe means it is not an RRSP nor a TFSA. I am somewhat new to these concepts and I would like some help.

Given that have such a small investment and I am in the lowest tax bracket (I work for minimum wage and don't anticipate a significant increase in income any time soon), how would you recommend I proceed? Should I try to move my money to be sheltered in one of these kinds of accounts or should I wait until I accumulate a larger sum/income? Also, at what point do you think I should look to move my money into my own managed portfolio (assuming I become more educated on how to do this)?

daverobev

• Magnum Stache
Re: Newbie Canadian investor looking for advice
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2014, 06:47:51 PM »
Have a read of CanadianCouchPotato.

For $4.5k put it all into a TFSA. You get 5.5k per year now (not sure how old you are but contrib room starts when you're 18).

Lowest tax bracket favours the TFSA assuming you'll be in a higher bracket sometime.

If you sell and rebuy in a TFSA you'll need to pay capital gains on any gain but cannot claim any loss.

Good luck, good on you starting young. You can be done in 10 years - if you want to be!

strider3700

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2014, 02:38:27 AM »