Author Topic: New to investing, unclear on income return  (Read 4082 times)

MaxRules

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New to investing, unclear on income return
« on: January 02, 2014, 11:43:28 AM »
Hi all, great forum you have here. I'm new to investing in the stock market and have just gotten started with $5000. I have learned a lot in the past week but I am still unclear on many aspects of how the system works. I am 30 years old and have a few relatives that make good money on the market, by their own accounting, but haven't done a very good job explaining just how that comes to be. I understand that if you buy low and sell high you'll make a profit. This is not the gambling I am looking to do. I'd rather buy and hold like my grandparents have done their whole life. The market always goes up and down. How do you make money by holding stocks? Investing $5000 (which I realize is very little) might gain some dollars over the next few months, let's say 5%. Then I'll have $5250. Then the market will surely go back down, as much or more than it went up. Then I'll have as much or less than I started with. How is money made on this, am I missing something? I know dividends can pay out some but that doesn't seem to be enough to add up. How can you have a constant stream of income from this, even with a large amount invested?
Thanks for any advise you can offer. There is very little real info on investing out there.

NinetyFour

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
Re: New to investing, unclear on income return
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 12:04:58 PM »
Actually, I think there is probably a lot of info out there about investing, not all of it good probably.

Here are some places you might start:

http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Bogleheads%C2%AE_investment_philosophy

http://jlcollinsnh.com/2012/05/09/stocks-part-v-keeping-it-simple-considerations-and-tools/

http://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/

Good luck!

matchewed

• Magnum Stache