Author Topic: New to investing. Index funds for savings?  (Read 2726 times)

GhostRider103

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New to investing. Index funds for savings?
« on: August 24, 2015, 06:49:41 PM »
I'm very new to the investing world and am seeking some help on where to start investing.

I have some cash set aside that I would like to be growing instead of letting it just sit there. I would also like to be able to increase the amount monthly.

I've been looking into vanguard index funds but am unsure if it is the right way to go. I should mention i do plan on buying a house within the next 2 years.

Is index funds a good option? Is there something better for short term? Also, how accessible would my funds be in a vanguard index fund?

fb132

Re: New to investing. Index funds for savings?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2015, 06:57:08 PM »
I'm very new to the investing world and am seeking some help on where to start investing.

I have some cash set aside that I would like to be growing instead of letting it just sit there. I would also like to be able to increase the amount monthly.

I've been looking into vanguard index funds but am unsure if it is the right way to go. I should mention i do plan on buying a house within the next 2 years.

Is index funds a good option? Is there something better for short term? Also, how accessible would my funds be in a vanguard index fund?
Just buy Vanguard's total stock market (if you are from the US) or the canadian couch potato portfolio if you are canadian, that should be enough....and no you shouldn't invest if your money is to buy a house in 2 years. If you do, you may risk losing money short term. You are better off in a savings account or money market. At best you could put it in some bonds or treasury.

GGNoob

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2015, 07:11:53 PM »
Start here for some information on investing: http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Main_Page