Author Topic: New to HSAs  (Read 8458 times)

jflo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New to HSAs
« on: August 21, 2013, 10:10:44 PM »
I changed jobs and it worked out way better to get my husband and HDHP than go on the health insurance offered through the new employer. The HDHP is HSA eligible so we'd like to get one to use as a retirement account for him -  he never gets sick and is currently self-employed and not contributing to a 401k (we're maxing my contributions).
I'm fairly new to investing (only used employer programs since I'm busy paying off a big student loan) but thought it would be best to go w/ a fund that allows us to invest in Vanguard since I'm a fan of low fees.  So I look at who they recommend, Health Savings Administrators, and see they have a $45/yr fee.  This seems really high.  I poked around online and fees seem to be an issue with HSAs as are some other administrative problems.
Thoughts from folks with recent experience?  Is this high for an investment vehicle?  Better options for investing a 3-5k a year?
Thanks.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: New to HSAs
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2013, 10:16:26 PM »
$45/yr out of $3k = 1.5%, not ideal.  Still, if it's a flat rate, as your HSA grows that shrinks as a percentage of it.

HSAs though in general are pretty sweet.

My favorite HSA article, is here: http://www.madfientist.com/ultimate-retirement-account/

Keep in mind that HSAs are changing/potentially going away with the Affordable Care Act/"Obamacare", so this may all be a moot point.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

jflo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2013, 10:52:17 PM »