Author Topic: New Investor, should I invest with no income?  (Read 3845 times)

Nate4846

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
New Investor, should I invest with no income?
« on: March 22, 2017, 08:11:29 AM »
Hello all!

I am a new mustachian and very new to this forum. I wanted to thank you all in advance for your help!

My situation:
I am a undergraduate junior studying electrical engineering. I am doing engineering internship rotations making about $600 per week until august. I have no student debt and I have saved a lot of what I have made already. I have an emergency fund and about 3-5K available right now to invest. I plan on going to graduate school (at little cost to me, I will be applying for work studies and any scholarship/aid that I can get) because the field and career I want to work in requires it.

My question:
I read the Order of investment topic but I have no income that provides reimbursement, retirement, or anything beyond an hourly wage. I will not have that for the next three years but I do not want my savings just sitting in my bank. Should I skip to the last step and put it in low cost funds?

If I invest:
After reading some information here and on the blog, I was thinking of making the minimum investment in a VFINX or VTSMX account and putting the rest into a VTI or something similar.

Miscellaneous Investment idea:
I also read online about motif investing. The motif topics on this forum seem to mention it for ethical investing but I specifically thought it could be used to mimic successful mutual funds. Some successful Mutual funds have %76-90 of their shares in about 30 stocks or so. What do you think about making a motif to mimic these funds and then rebalance and possible invest more 2-4 times a year. This keeps my cost constant at $20-40 per year and over 30 years it rivals the cost of low cost funds. I thought it was a cool idea when I read about it, I'd probably favor making an account on Vanguard though.

Thanks for the help!