Author Topic: New investor: Moving funds from one Roth IRA to another?  (Read 3919 times)

MVal

• Pencil Stache
New investor: Moving funds from one Roth IRA to another?
« on: May 22, 2015, 09:52:50 AM »
What is the best way to transfer funds from one IRA to another? I thought I could avoid the $50 closure fee at Merrilll Edge they told me they'd charge if I transferred my whole account elsewhere but just leaving a few hundred there, but is that not the best route? Would I actually have to do some kind of "rollover" if I didn't close the account and is that really worth the trouble?

I am new to investing and I am not really sure what all these terms mean and what kinds of headaches I might be in for if I don't do this properly. I want to transfer my account worth about $7600 from Merrill Edge to Vanguard. How do I not get dinged with fees?

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
Re: New investor: Moving funds from one Roth IRA to another?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2015, 11:17:52 AM »
What is the best way to transfer funds from one IRA to another? I thought I could avoid the $50 closure fee at Merrilll Edge they told me they'd charge if I transferred my whole account elsewhere but just leaving a few hundred there, but is that not the best route? Would I actually have to do some kind of "rollover" if I didn't close the account and is that really worth the trouble?

I am new to investing and I am not really sure what all these terms mean and what kinds of headaches I might be in for if I don't do this properly. I want to transfer my account worth about $7600 from Merrill Edge to Vanguard. How do I not get dinged with fees?