Author Topic: Is this 457 Worth the fees?  (Read 6449 times)

Jet9

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is this 457 Worth the fees?
« on: December 18, 2015, 03:33:21 PM »
Hello everyone:

I'm a teacher and am already maxing out my 403-B through CALSTRS/VOYA; I'm grateful I have Vanguard options here. I also have the possibility to invest in a 457, but with a different company that doesn't offer VTSAX (Nationwide). I would really like to take advantage of the pre-tax 457, especially since I am planning to retire at 55, four and a half years before I am able to withdraw the 403-B, and the 457 would come in handy to bridge the gap. However, the fees and expense ratios for the Nationwide 457 seem like highway robbery (and that's for an unmanaged account).

$6 one time fee
$12 annual recordkeeping fee
$3.00 annual statement fee
.02 % of account value (asset based fee, daily).

I will have a small pension (between $2500-3000 monthly if I retire at 55) and am planning to max the Roth IRA each year.

Based on the fees above, is the pre-tax 457 worth it? If not, what would you all recommend I do with remaining available funds, around 10k annually?

Your advice would be appreciated, thanks!
« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 05:56:14 PM by Jet9 »

naners

• Stubble
Re: Is this 457 Worth the fees?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2015, 03:42:44 PM »
I'm part of the New York State 457. We have an annual fee of $20 plus 0.04% of assets. Since this isn't an employer sponsored plan someone has to pay the administrative costs and I think this is a fine deal. The more important question is what are the expense ratios of the funds inside the 457? The NYS plan has Vanguard Institutional Plus funds which are pretty fabulous, because they manage hundreds of millions of dollars. Combine this with the tax break from deferring and for me it's a no-brainer.

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2015, 03:46:14 PM »