Author Topic: Need Saving / Investing advice  (Read 7218 times)

gsd802

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need Saving / Investing advice
« on: January 03, 2017, 08:28:09 AM »
Hello,
I would like to start with I am a complete beginner when it comes to investing. Currently I use Edward Jones for my investment adviser.  I know people have mixed thoughts on the company, but my family got me into it because they have all done really well with them.  I am 27 work all the time with salary pay and want to save but get some return on that saving. 

Currently I max my ROTH every year, put $100 into my SIMPLE each week, ($5,200 annually) and my employer contributes 3% into my SIMPLE.  For Ed Jones I believe I am in the medium risk bracket.  Looks like for 2016 I only made less than 3% on all my investments.  I'm not even sure if that covers the cost of the program I am paying Jones.  (Will look into that at end of the year report)

I have about $28k between my ROTH and SIMPLE, and about $27k in cash currently.  No debt. 

Should I invest some of my cash money?  If so, how so? Am I on the right track? I just feel like I am not gaining.  I work for a dairy farm and my retirement is only what I save.  I want to make sure I do it right.

Thank you

Gunny

• Stubble
Re: Need Saving / Investing advice
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2017, 09:13:21 AM »