Author Topic: Need help with factoring in pension to early retirement  (Read 2799 times)

Snezzle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need help with factoring in pension to early retirement
« on: November 27, 2017, 12:54:44 PM »
I'm relatively new to this gig and would appreciate some help with how to factor pension into early retirement. I have to pay into a private pension via my employer (working at an international school in Europe). Fortunately, my contribution is matched by a 2x employer contribution so that's positive. I'm also using a roboadvisor with a highly diversified profile that I invest in each month. I have a target in mind for the investment using the 4% rule, but I'm not sure where the pension comes in. I can access the pension fund earlier than the country's pension age, but not as early as I would like to retire. So my question is how do I calculate how much I need in my investment? Let's assume I retire at 50 and have 1,000,000 (amount necessary to receive required income for me and husband applying 4% rule). However, Let's say at the age of 60 we can start drawing healthy pension amounts (won't be enough to fully cover all living costs, but still good). Once the pension kicks in, I have more than I need in savings; quite nice, but I'd rather retire earlier than just have lots of money. Alternatively, should I aim to save less (thereby potentially retiring even earlier) because I will eventually get my pension to supplement the amount. However, that would mean that from the age of 50 (or age I retire) to when the pension starts, I would either have to consistently draw less than 4% (not what I want) or draw the amount that I need and watch the investment amount reduce. I'm not sure which is the best option and really how to calculate this? There's also the possibility that my next job may provide no pension and the pension I'll be able to draw in future will be much smaller as a result. Either way, same question. How do I calculate for this? Thank you!

Snezzle