Author Topic: Need help with 401k options  (Read 3470 times)

smacpa

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Need help with 401k options
« on: January 16, 2017, 09:06:35 PM »
I'm new to MMM and the FIRE concept, I was looking over my 401k options and I am a bit concerned by the high expense ratios.

What options do I have?

I am already fully funding a Roth IRA for my wife and I.  The 401k should provide another 15,696 in tax advantaged investments.
See my mutual fund options attached thru John Hancock, the lowest ratio is .73

Taran Wanderer

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Need help with 401k options
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2017, 10:03:58 PM »
Page 7 in the middle, John Hancock 500 Index Fund, expense ratio 0.68.

If you only want to think about one fund, that's the one.

lost_in_the_endless_aisle

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2017, 10:41:25 PM »
Those expenses are terrible--is that normal? You have about 10x more options than I do but I can get VINIX with my employer for 0.04%

smacpa

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2017, 03:47:59 AM »
Yes they are terrible, am i allowed to roll my portion of contributions into my IRA?

I'm going to bring up getting more options with HR tomorrow but I have low expectations that will work anytime soon.  In the meantime I'm dumping 1,308 per month in this thing.  I just picked the 8 or so funds with the highest 10 YR return, and spread them among LC, MC, SC, INT.  But regularly those were at 1.30.

lost_in_the_endless_aisle

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2017, 12:14:19 AM »
Before plowing into the higher cost funds that happened to perform better, you should read what this expert stock picker has to say (yowl?):

http://www.forbes.com/sites/frederickallen/2013/01/15/cat-beats-professionals-at-stock-picking

The best predictor for returns for a given asset class is expense ratio, not past performance.

If you want to predict FIFA World Cup matches, on the other tentacle, talk to Paul the Octopus.

NoStacheOhio

• Handlebar Stache