Author Topic: My retired parents have finally listened! But is it too late to invest?  (Read 4378 times)

bowk

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Morning to all of the mustachians reading this.

I am a long time reader of MMM but a newbie mustachianista. I’ve finally sorted out my finances and this has inspired my retired 70-ish year old parents to do the same. For a bit of context they have been frugal mustachians for their entire lives, built quite the nest egg, retired and are still living frugally and loving it.

But their money is in cash savings accounts yielding on average 1% interest. This makes me feel sick! I think they need to get their money out of cash and into something a little higher yielding! However I am no expert and am looking for some help here about what their options are. I suppose some of this depends on what they want to do with the money (just to make clear I think they should spend it on a worthwhile venture/charity/high quality care for themselves as they become less able) and how long they live.

Any advice on what they could/should do and what their options are? Are index trackers a viable option considering this isn’t going to be a long term investment? Thanks in advance.

Enough

• Stubble
Re: My retired parents have finally listened! But is it too late to invest?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2018, 04:07:28 AM »
The below funds are as risky as I would advise (maybe too risky) for a couple in retirement in their 70s that is currently happy living off their nest egg earning 1%.

https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/profile/VTINX
https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/profile/vtxvx

Over the long run, they would for sure get better returns, but the question is do they need it given where they are at right now?  I'd say they should assess their risk tolerance, and depending on where that is, decide whether moving their cash to investments is worth the additional risk and stress for higher long term gains

BSL18

• 5 O'Clock Shadow