Author Topic: My father's finances  (Read 3766 times)

jakerm17

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
My father's finances
« on: May 02, 2017, 11:09:15 PM »
I'm fairly new to the MMM community (about 2 years) and have embraced the philosophy with open arms. I am writing to ask for advice on my father's situation.

He is 74 years old, retired, and recently divorced (about 9 months ago). He has been taking the divorce hard and is mentally occupied with that and some other personal issues he is dealing with. He has asked me to make some pretty big financial decisions for him and decide where to invest his money.

The details:
-He has 850 K in assets (825 in an IRA, 25 in a ROTH). The money is all currently un-invested and sitting with a small financial advisory group.
-10K in checking account
-He receives 2200/mo. in social security
-Total monthly expenses are approx. 2500/mo. (This includes a 1200/mo. mortgage)

Beyond the mortgage, he has no debt. 

The Plan:
I am looking at several options for him.

1. Leaving the money with the financial advisor group - they charge 1% fees and are pushing some annuities pretty hard.
2. Financial advisory services with Vanguard (appointment set for Monday so will see what they offer)
3. One of the robo-services (Betterment, Wealthfront, etc.)
4. Finding a fiduciary and seeing what kind of plan they would offer.

My father my nature is frugal and conservative.
As for me, I am in my early 30s, young professional, and am comfortable with my own investing in the tens of thousands but to have to make a decision that will affect hundreds of thousands and my father's financial future feels like jumping into the deep end.

Thoughts?

Much appreciated!!

Khan

• Pencil Stache
Re: My father's finances
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2017, 11:35:18 PM »