Author Topic: My Adventures in Market Timing  (Read 6381 times)

MyOtherBrotherDarryl

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
My Adventures in Market Timing
« on: December 19, 2019, 10:01:50 PM »
I am a college professor. I have a PhD and everything. This means that I am a Very Smart Person.

Or so I've been told.

After all, if I appear on television as a Very Important Talking Head, my name on the screen is either preceded by "Dr." or postscripted with "PhD." The only other professionals routinely accorded that level of deference are doctoral-level healthcare practitioners like physicians and veterinarians.

Yes, veterinarians are healthcare practitioners. Fight me.

Alas, my salary is not as inflated as my ego. We net in the mid-five-figure range, which is more than enough for the very LCOL area we call home, but certainly less than I would like. Nonetheless, we've managed to save a tidy sum.

What's that?

Oh, yes.

"We."

I'm married with two kids. My wife and I are in our early 40s. Our kids are in grade school. I teach full-time at a public university. She works part-time. We have no debts save for a mortgage that's about to drop from six figures to five. I am mostly sober as I write this. The fall semester ended a little while back. Happy Thursday.

My adventures in market timing are thus:

Our retirement funds, held in a mix of Vanguard-administered Roth IRAs and accounts safeguarded by the good people at TIAA-CREF, are invested 100% in stocks. Index funds where we could get them, the closest available if they weren't. Some benighted souls at a previous job of mine limited their TIAA-CREF options to a bare handful that didn't include an index fund. A pox on their houses.