Author Topic: Mustachians can pay 0% federal capital gains tax?  (Read 6028 times)

finance_hacking

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Mustachians can pay 0% federal capital gains tax?
« on: March 23, 2013, 07:22:40 PM »
My entire approach to FI revolves around index funds, bond funds, etc.  I have no desire to become involved in real estate and be a landlord (but that is a different topic).  When it comes to investing my 'Stache, Vanguard is the primary place I look.

I've been doing some research on capital gains taxes and how it would affect my 'Stache once I reach FI.  The government has set the long-term capital gains tax at 0% for taxpayers at the 15% ordinary income tax bracket or lower.  For single filers, such as myself, this means that I only have to pay long-term capital gains taxes on income from my 'Stache if my total income is over $36,250.  And that number seems more than adequate for your average mustachian!

I'm not a tax expert, but my understanding is that I won't have to pay any federal income tax once I reach FI and start living off of my 'Stache, provided I don't take out more than $36,250 each year.  I believe that this makes it even easier for me to reach FI with my 'Stache.

Obviously, there are a few caveats:
1. States may tax capital gains as income, so you would still have to pay that.  This can be solved by moving to a state that has a very low income tax rate or no income tax at all.
2. The government may decide to re-institute a capital gains tax for people at the 15% tax bracket and lower.  There is no way to predict the future tax rates, so this is always a risk that can be hard to account for.

Did I miss anything?  Does anyone with a better understanding of how taxes work see any problems with this type of plan?

DK

• Stubble
Re: Mustachians can pay 0% federal capital gains tax?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 08:23:49 PM »