Author Topic: Municipal Bond Investing Primer  (Read 3714 times)

Sid888

• Stubble
Municipal Bond Investing Primer
« on: January 21, 2016, 07:34:11 AM »
I'm a newbie at investing in Municipal Bonds and looking for some basic information.   I have a pretty good retirement portfolio built up and primarily invested in Vanguard Stock Index Funds and a High Dividend ETF.  Our liquid non-retirement savings is just "laying around."

We have about $300,000 in non-retirement savings that is not invested.  We would like to use that money to pay off our mortgage (it's a 15 year loan at 3% that we owe about $325,000 on now) or use the money to get a great cash real estate deal if the real estate market drops in Chicago (and we believe that is highly likely over the next few years).  This money is just sitting around along with an interest in a farm that's worth about $400,000 now and making about $7000 in rent.  We are happy in our current home and it's large enough for our family.  Our current mortgage allows us to pay off roughly $2000, a month in principal ($24,000 annually) and we pay the bank $800 ($9600 annually).  The mortgage is affordable and will be paid off before our children hit college if we don't pay it in advance.

We are conservative investors so an annual 4% ROI that is tax free would be great. 

Our goal is really to create a stream of income that we would use to pay real estate taxes and save for our children's college education while we stay put in our current home but liquid enough to get out if a better real estate opportunity comes along.

We want to see if investing in Municipal Bonds is appropriate for our situation.

1.  How do I invest in Municipal Bonds directly versus an index fund at Vanguard or some other low fee fund?

2.  Which is better - or what are the pluses and minuses of investing directly or in an index fund?

3.  Do Municipal Index Funds pay dividends that rival annual interest payments from directly investing in Bonds?