Poll

Given all previous accounts have been liquidated to cash prior to the transfer, would you...

Buy all the new holdings day 1?
Buy equal portions each month for the next 6 months?
Hold off until after the election?
Hold off until the next significant (say 10% or more) correction and buy cheap?

Author Topic: Moving everything to Vanguard, need advice  (Read 4613 times)

CrankAddict

• Stubble
Moving everything to Vanguard, need advice
« on: August 11, 2016, 11:49:51 AM »
Hi Everyone,

Quick background - I have been investing in an IRA and 401k for the last 18 years (I'm self employed).  I originally started with a Simple plan, then eventually opened an Individual 401k to allow for more contributions in good years.  I have worked with 4 different advisers over that period of time, the last of which I bailed from this week after determining how much more money I'd have now if I had gone to an all-index-fund portfolio 1 year ago, 3 years ago, 5 years ago, etc.  I also have a Roth IRA for my daughter (she's 20) that won't get much in the way of new contributions but that I want to grow for the next 30 years.

I'm opening up the whole array of new accounts at Vanguard and while that multi-week process takes place I have had the previous accounts all liquidated to cash a) because Vanguard said that would be a good first step in the process and b) with the market at a high right now I figured it couldn't hurt and c) I had such a hodge podge collection of BS that the various advisors had put me in, I just wanted to wash my hands of it all and start fresh with Vanguard offerings.