Author Topic: Monthly or all at once?  (Read 3709 times)

Lanthiriel

• Pencil Stache
Monthly or all at once?
« on: March 09, 2017, 10:27:21 PM »
I know, I know. You can't time the market. That said, I just sold a house with no plans to buy in the near future, so I'm using the cash to max out my and my husband's 2016 IRAs. That obviously needs to go in now to sneak in under the tax filing deadline.

My question is for 2017. Should I just dump the money in now, or should I invest $500/person/month throughout the year? I'm a little nervous with the market so high, and think that maybe I would be spreading it the risk doing it that way? Plus I think setting it up this way would allow me to set my IRAs on autopilot so that they sort of just become another bill.

Obviously I'm new to this and a little nervous. Any suggestions?

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
Re: Monthly or all at once?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2017, 10:51:12 PM »
Speaking for myself, I have regretted 100% of all delays I made. I managed to speed things up once, and it was totally worth it.

Dago

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2017, 03:52:14 AM »
Speaking for myself, I regretted investing all at once right before the 2008 crisis :S . Statistically you should go all at once then one should take into account his/her level of comfort with doing that.

I have the feeling that you are hesitating. Just because of that I would advise to invest over a certain period of time (1 year ?) to make you feel more comfortable.

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2017, 05:58:50 AM »
Here's one rational thing you can do to dial down your risk: Be sure you're using a common sense asset allocation plan.

This should help at least a little because while some markets are (it would seem) richly valued, others probably aren't.