Author Topic: Money Market Account Q  (Read 5969 times)

HeidiO

Money Market Account Q
« on: April 12, 2012, 02:58:35 AM »
  I just pulled a little money out of a mutual fund and parked it in my savings account.  I plan on spending it in the next year on downpayments for 2 rental houses.  Does anyone have suggestions for money markets or other options to make a little interest on it?  I need to be able to access it quickly, without penalty, b/c I am planning on spending it soon-ish.  My bank's interest rate caps out at 0.05, so why bother.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Money Market Account Q
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 09:04:51 AM »
One note: don't move it around too much, or you'll have a fun line of paperwork for the broker.  You want your money "seasoned" - i.e. sitting in the same account for > 60 days, when qualifying for a mortgage.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Cast me away from yesterday's things
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 09:41:30 AM »
If you're talking about a money market savings account that works like a regular, at-will deposit savings account, you won't find anything. The best interest rate at the best credit union in Columbus, OH (a large-enough metropolitan area) was like .4% interest (so low, you lose money relative to inflation), because people are so scared of investing that deposit interest rates are driven way, way down. The same will go for many retail banks... the only exception I can think of would be an online bank like Ally or ING Direct. You may want to check them out. What is wrong with having it in a mutual fund exactly?

Mr Mark