Author Topic: Minimum Vanguard investment after initial investment?  (Read 5477 times)

naners

• Stubble
Minimum Vanguard investment after initial investment?
« on: October 16, 2015, 11:47:55 AM »
I'm just getting started with investing in taxable accounts, and I'm a bit unclear about Vanguard's minimum investment policy. I know you need $3000 for most mutual funds to get started, but after that can you invest any amount at a time? Or does every purchase have to be 3k?

Thanks!

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Minimum Vanguard investment after initial investment?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2015, 11:56:32 AM »
I'm just getting started with investing in taxable accounts, and I'm a bit unclear about Vanguard's minimum investment policy. I know you need $3000 for most mutual funds to get started, but after that can you invest any amount at a time? Or does every purchase have to be 3k?

Thanks!
Hahaha... no. 
I know from experience you can make purchases for $25 - I'm pretty sure they'll allow $10 purchases as well (though best to double-check that).  Maybe less....

BarkyardBQ

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2015, 11:58:53 AM »

Thanks!
Hahaha... no. 
I know from experience you can make purchases for $25 - I'm pretty sure they'll allow $10 purchases as well (though best to double-check that).  Maybe less....

We used to have a $30 auto investment every 2 weeks setup on payday to supplement lump sums... basically anytime we'd reduce cash flow we would raise this amount. The $30 was divided 75/25 VTIAX/VTSAX... so it took a $7.50 investment just fine.

frugalnacho

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2015, 12:00:00 PM »
After your initial investment you can add any amount you want to that same fund.  If you purchase a different fund though you will have to meet that fund's minimum investment.

BarkyardBQ

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2015, 12:04:03 PM »