Author Topic: Need to consolidate investments; advice?  (Read 3770 times)

capital

• Bristles
Need to consolidate investments; advice?
« on: November 16, 2012, 02:23:31 PM »
I've been working for a couple years, and especially since paying off my student loans, I've started piling up money in Roth IRAs & 401ks in Vanguard funds. In addition, after maxing out the 401(k)s and the Roth IRA, I've piled up a bunch of money in ING Direct savings, beyond my 9-month-ish emergency fund in a 5-year CD.

My goals aren't too specific yet but are in the direction of eventually becoming financially independent, maybe retiring early, probably spending a while traveling while I'm still young, and maybe buying property in a few years, so I'm wondering where I should keep some of the money currently in savings where it'd be reasonably flexible-- a taxable investment account is what I'm thinking.

The money is kinda spread out between companies, and I'm not entirely sure which is best, though since the money is already in Vanguard funds it seems like a decent idea to move it to Vanguard, from what I've read here. I'm also thinking about moving from VFIFX (an auto-rebalancing blend of stocks and bonds, in the Investor Shares version) to a similar blend of funds in the Admiral Shares version, since I have a good chunk of savings. I've also heard that ETFs can be good for DCA'ing money toward as it builds up, but am still learning about those.

Here's the situation:
-$9.8k, VFIFX, Roth IRA on ETrade
-$11.8k, VIIIX, Fidelity (previous employer's 401(k))
-$14.1k, VFIFX, MassMutual (previous employer's 401(k))
-$15k, ING Direct checkings/savings
-$10k, Ally 5-year CD (emergency fund)

I'm thinking I should move it all to Vanguard, rolling the 401(k)s to an IRA and keeping the Roths Roth, basically to have a diversified tax exposure since I don't have any plans and I have no idea what tax rates will be in 2040. I'd probably try to distribute it similarly to VFIFX, but Admiralized, so: