Author Topic: Margin loan through Interactive Brokers  (Read 12359 times)

Nounoon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • French Project Manager living in the Middle East
Margin loan through Interactive Brokers
« on: July 22, 2019, 03:54:02 AM »
I have about 400k to invest in a relatively conservative portfolio, and would like your feedback on using Margins loan to invest an additional 100k and keep it long-term.

I am not new to investing, but I am new to Interactive Brokers and Margin accounts. Do the rates mentioned on their platform https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index.php?f=1595 are the actual ones being charged? If so, how easy are they to open, do I need to activate with them a 100k credit line? How are the interests charged, is it monthly taken on my cash balance or is it as a bullet and with a bullet payment when I close my credit line?

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: July 22, 2019, 04:31:29 AM by Nounoon »

Financial.Velociraptor

• Handlebar Stache
  • Devour your prey raptors!
    • Living Universe Foundation
Re: Margin loan through Interactive Brokers
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2019, 10:11:28 PM »
I eliminated my emergency fund in ER.  I use a margin loan from IB as needed for emergencies.  The rate published is really the rate.  It is though, a variable rate driven by the Fed. It is quite a lot higher today than a year ago.

Leverage kills.  Your gains will be magnified but so will your losses.  Also note that IB does  not issue "margin calls".  They have an algorithm that will automatically start liquidating your positions if you violate margin requirement.  Count on that being done in the least tax efficient manner possible.