Author Topic: Making sense of my 401k  (Read 5729 times)

winkeyman

• Bristles
Making sense of my 401k
« on: September 21, 2015, 10:49:36 AM »
I am looking for guidance regarding my company 401k. I am new to MMM and investing in general but I am trying to absorb as much as I can.

My company provides a 401k plan through T Rowe Price. I have been with the company for 3 years, and have maxed out the employer contribution all 3 years to a total of %15 of my salary.

My return over this time period is only about %3.5 which is discouragingly low. I started looking into it and I can't really make sense of what I am seeing. My holdings are a mixture of the following securities, and I am listing the 3-year growth along with them.

VSMGX %9.85
VASGX %12.53
VASIX %4.50
Company Stock %7

I guess I don't understand how if my holdings have grown like this yet my account overall has done so poorly. The expense ratios for the Vanguard funds are 0.14, 0.16, and 0.17 does this and whatever fees T Rowe charges for managing the account eat into my returns that badly?

I am thinking about changing to %90 Vanguard Total Stock Market Index and %10 company stock going forward.

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Making sense of my 401k
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2015, 11:35:08 AM »
The three-year growth numbers you're reporting: what period does this cover? Is it through the end of 2014, by chance? Most stock indexes are down a few percent since the beginning of the year, and this could explain much of the discrepancy between the three-year return numbers you're seeing and the actual return you have in your account.

RangerOne

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2015, 11:39:01 AM »