Author Topic: Low Income Investing  (Read 14201 times)

kellmahon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Low Income Investing
« on: April 18, 2013, 07:49:14 AM »
Hello! This is my first time posting so i hope it goes well.

I have been searching the MMM blog for a while to find the best means of investing for someone with a low income. I am a college student working part time and can not afford the $3000 Minimum vanguard nonsense. I really want to start investing but I do not feel educated enough to go out on my own. To be honest, I don't even know how to go about purchasing stocks/bonds. Does anyone know the most affordable method of doing this? Or somewhere i can learn how?

I have a couple hundred dollars  of expendable income that I am looking to invest. Any Suggestions?

Or even a previous forum I can checkout?

brewer12345

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Low Income Investing
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 08:31:14 AM »
I'd start with a balanced fund.  Vanguard STAR fund VGSTX has a $1,000 minimum.  Slightly higher expense ratio Schwab Balanced SWBGX has a $100 minimum.  Either one would serve as an all-in-one investment vehicle until your balance gets big enough for anything more complicated.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2013, 08:37:14 AM »
Schwab also has an S&P 500 fund and a total market fund with the same minimums.  They also have bricks and mortar offices where you can attend beginning investment seminars and people at the offices of whom you can ask questions.

the fixer

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2013, 08:53:16 AM »
I think you can buy ETFs with no minimum other than the share price (but I've never traded stocks or ETFs so I'm not sure)

AJ

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2013, 09:05:58 AM »
Try Betterment. I used them for a while until I had the $3k minimum for Vanguard and liked it.

sheepstache

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2013, 09:17:47 AM »
Hello! This is my first time posting so i hope it goes well.