Author Topic: Low-fee, lower performance vs. higher-fee, higher performance?  (Read 8208 times)

agoraphone

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Low-fee, lower performance vs. higher-fee, higher performance?
« on: December 18, 2013, 09:02:01 AM »
I'm just getting started reading this blog and thinking about reworking my 401k funds, and I'm lucky enough to have access to some Vanguard funds in my 401k, namely VINIX, which is an S&P 500 tracking fund, charging .04% fees. So I've made that my default fund to contribute to, instead of a target-date fund which charges more like .65%. Of all the funds I'm invested in, the one with the highest fees (APHMX) charges 1.08%, which I suppose isn't terrible, but obviously isn't great either. So as I think about moving the money out of that fund, and into VINIX, I look at what each fund has earned. VINIX has earned 27.43% YTD and APHMX has earned 32.32%. So even after subtracting APHMX's higher fees, it has come out 3.82% ahead of VINIX.

I understand the "you can't consistently beat the market" line of thinking, but it's really hard for me to move money into a worse-performing fund to avoid a small fee difference. Thoughts?

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
Re: Low-fee, lower performance vs. higher-fee, higher performance?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2013, 09:25:04 AM »
You may just need to adjust your frame of reference. You're basically reacting to either a known (the fees) or an unknown (future performance).

Given a 100k investment you can either pay $1080 for APHMX or you can pay $40 for Vanguard. That is the known. I know what I'd pick.

The unknown is the future performance, can't really talk about it because it is unknown. You can't guarantee that APHMX will always beat VINIX by 1.04%. But you can guarantee what fees you choose to pay.

The second part is asset allocation APHMX is different than VINIX, APHMX is a Mid Cap fund while VINIX is a Large Cap fund. How does this fit into your asset allocation?

KingCoin

• Pencil Stache