Author Topic: Looking for some feedback on my target asset allocation  (Read 6891 times)

webguy

• Bristles
Looking for some feedback on my target asset allocation
« on: February 04, 2013, 07:14:24 PM »
I'm pretty new to investing (a few months) and looking for some feedback from anyone who can spare a moment on my target asset allocation.  I'm currently not very diversified and am looking to spread out my "portfolio" a little by the end of 2013.

Here's what I'm thinking:

30% VTSAX (Total stock market fund)
30% VBR (Small cap ETF)
10% VHDYX (High dividend yield stock fund)
10% VGSIX (REIT)
10% VIPSX (TIPS)
5% IBM
5% Coca Cola

I'm 27 and my wife is 25.  We currently have about 21k (12.5k in VTSAX, 6k in IBM, 2.5k in Coca Cola), but I'm hoping we'll have about 60k in investments by the end of this year.

Our goal is to have approximately 250k in 5 years, which is when we'll start a family.  At that point I want my wife to have the choice of whether or not she wants to work or stay at home some or all of the time with our children.  I would continue to work part-time (I work in web design/development) either from home for myself or part-time for an employer.  The idea is that I would make enough money part-time to be able to cover all of our expenses (likely 30k with mortgage and health care) and then the 250k would sit and compound for 30 years and be our "old man and woman money".  I'd like to be able to spend time with our kids while they're young but I'm open to increasing my working hours again once they are all attending school.

As I'm not looking to withdraw anything from these investments for 30 years then I'm wondering whether this allocation is too conservative (not oriented enough towards growth) and whether I should just do 30% VTSAX, 50% VBR. 10% REITs, 10% other stocks.

If you have any advice/suggestions/opinions for me either about my target asset allocation or my situation in general then I'd love to hear them!