Author Topic: Lockup Ended, Now What?  (Read 3878 times)

Kayano_55

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Lockup Ended, Now What?
« on: April 16, 2013, 10:56:26 PM »
Jr. Mustachians here. . .peach fuzz on our upper lips, really - as I recently just found this blog/forum - but certainly subscribe to the Mustachian philosophy.

Quick background - Company IPO'd. Lockup period expired.  Like a good Mustachian, I am starting to liquidate my company's stock to diversify (~50% up front and 10% each quarter).  My goal is to be semi-retired in 3-4 years.   

Background
38 years old  (thinking of 22 years before digging into 401k/IRA)
I've been lucky enough to maximize my retirement funds since I graduated from college,  and after running through MMM's analysis, I think I can cease 401K/Roth Contributions

Here are my initial thoughts:
Stop contributing to my 401K/IRA after this year
Start selling Company Stock
Vanguard it up - specifically, VTI ETF  - start building up VTI as my main fund
What other recommendations to diversify (thinking all Vanguard all the time initially, but curious if you all were in my shoes, what would you consider if you had 10% of your total stock position to diversify every quarter).

Goal is to have enough in 3-4 years to get to a point where I can cover expenses + decent amt extra per month at 7% (inflation adjusted) per MMM, and have enough to live/reinvest minus the hassle of a corporate gig (Married, no kids).  Curious what you all think. 

Wesmon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Lockup Ended, Now What?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 04:59:29 AM »
Sounds awesome.
Set aside enough for the capital gains you'll have to pay on the stock.
Instead of VTI, use the vanguard balanced /target date funds. They'll keep your asset allocation on autopilot.

Also, make sure you sell. I was in your position years ago but decided to wait for more stock appreciation. It appreciated right down to zero. (punch)

GreenGuava

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2013, 08:07:06 AM »