Author Topic: Kudy's Investment Policy Statement (IPS)  (Read 4267 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Kudy's Investment Policy Statement (IPS)
« on: July 23, 2013, 01:15:34 PM »
We frequently mention to new investors who aren't sure what direction they want to take that they should make an investment policy statement, and link to the Boglehead's page on the topic: http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/IPS

Kudy recently created an IPS I thought was worth sharing.  It's fairly simple and elegant, I enjoyed it: http://www.monetarymusings.com/investment-policy-statement/

Here is the blog post discussing it: http://www.monetarymusings.com/539/my-dark-investment-secret/

Enjoy!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

fiveoclockshadow

• Stubble
Re: Kudy's Investment Policy Statement (IPS)
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 01:34:30 PM »
Good link - that's a nice example of a short and sweet IPS for a Mustachian.

Only odd part about it is the 6 month rebalance.  That's sort of fast by most recommendations.  You might check in on a taxable account fairly frequently for tax loss harvesting opportunities but that's not really rebalancing.  Most of the asset allocation advice I've seen recommends keeping rebalances at the shortest of a year and as long as three.  You can gently steer new contributions along the way as well.  I think most back testing and Monte Carlo tends to show no advantage and a slight return disadvantage to more rapid rebalancing.

Anywho - thanks for pointing this one out.  Most of the time example IPS are for standard retirees rather than FIRE.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 04:34:28 PM »