Author Topic: Keep my emergency fund in my Roth IRA?  (Read 8429 times)

realityinabox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Keep my emergency fund in my Roth IRA?
« on: January 02, 2014, 08:22:36 AM »
Greetings all,

I am new to the MMM forum, and movement in general.  I come from the land of Dave Ramsey, where he encourages people to keep 3-6 months worth of expenses in an emergency fund.  I currently have ~30k in a Vanguard Roth targeted retirement fund (2055), and roughly $11k sitting in my credit union account (earning 3% annually), most of which is earmarked as emergency fund in my budgeting software. 

Is it crazy to have that much money sitting in my checking account when, with a Roth IRA, I can pull the principle out at no penalty anyway?  I obviously want to keep some liquidity, but I haven't maxed out my Roth contributions for 2013 yet, so it got me thinking, why not keep my emergency fund in a higher yield account?

Any input would be great, as I said, I'm relatively new to all this.

chicagomeg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Keep my emergency fund in my Roth IRA?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 08:54:17 AM »

realityinabox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2014, 10:06:50 AM »
Would it be a bad idea to put this money into my targeted retirement fund?  Or should I keep it in a money-market?

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2014, 10:39:06 AM »
You can pull contributions out of a Roth, but you cannot put them back.  Therefore, you lose all of the future benefits of growth and compounding.  This is a very stupid idea in my opinion.