Author Topic: Just opened my first brokerage account.....help!  (Read 5996 times)

westcl2

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Just opened my first brokerage account.....help!
« on: September 02, 2015, 10:43:20 AM »
As the title says I just opened my first brokerage account and I wanted some advice on my investing strategy.

Background: 
I have a 401k that I max for employer contributions, but very limited control over asset allocation within this fund (basically just index funds for different subgroups).  Additionally I've been putting money in a Roth IRA S&P500 index fund for ~4 years and it's been doing well enough but I wanted to start managing where my money was invested.  My employer offers a pension and assuming it still exists when I retire (~25-30 years) will offer somewhere in the ball park of 30-40k annually.  These are my 3 primary tools I am focusing on for my retirement planning.

Goal:
retire on schedule w/ ~100k+ annual "allowance"

Strategy:

Invest invest invest and don't touch it until I retire.  Refocusing will happen, but no removal of investment from these accounts until it is my primary source of income

Pensions:
not much I can do to adjust this output, except work longer
GOAL ~33K /year

401k:
50/50 roth to traditional this is a huge index fund focusing primarily on stocks, and as I approach retirement i'll phase it over to bonds and more conservative funds.  My thought is that this will serve to diversify my investments as its so broadly invested
Allocation of assets: accounts for ~66% of my total investments
GOAL FOR THIS FUND 5-10% returns, close to 2 million at retirement, 3% rule = 66k

Roth IRA (focus of question)
contributions are comparable to my 401k but no matching so it's smaller.  Initially I would plan on splitting up my current investment (index fund) into ~10 companies I like across the different parts of the market, and gradually increase this every year to somewhere in the 50 holdings range