Author Topic: Just Invested 100k - calm me down!  (Read 7391 times)

LaurenR

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Just Invested 100k - calm me down!
« on: November 28, 2017, 11:20:31 AM »
Just opened a Vanguard account and bought 70k worth of VTSAX, 20k of VTIAX, and 10k of VBTLX.  I've never done this before and I'm trying not to hyperventilate.  Tell me its going to be OK!!!!!

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Just Invested 100k - calm me down!
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2017, 11:29:34 AM »
It's going to be fine.
EVen if the market tanks tomorrow, as long as you leave the money invested you'll be fine.

For encouragement, read the story of Bob, the Hypothetical investor with the World's Worst Timing
Spoiler: he does just fine in the long run.
http://awealthofcommonsense.com/2014/02/worlds-worst-market-timer/

ILikeDividends

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2017, 01:32:15 PM »
Just opened a Vanguard account and bought 70k worth of VTSAX, 20k of VTIAX, and 10k of VBTLX.  I've never done this before and I'm trying not to hyperventilate.  Tell me its going to be OK!!!!!
Just for grins, throttle your anxiety using a little humor with this thread:
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/top-is-in/
26 pages of doomsayer nonsense and consequent ridicule about the market hitting "the top."
It was started last April, and we're up about 10% since then.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 01:42:21 PM by ILikeDividends »

LaurenR

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2017, 02:18:39 PM »
Thank you!!!!  A funny thread, a worst-case scenario, and the great book recommendation were just the ticket.  :P 

I just wasn't expecting my heart rate to skyrocket when I was confident I was doing the right thing!  Got my thrills for the week.

surfhb

« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2017, 02:45:02 PM »
If it make you feel better, your balance went up around $1000 today  ;)

LaurenR

• 5 O'Clock Shadow