Author Topic: It's 2008 again.....  (Read 7093 times)

ForeverLearning

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
It's 2008 again.....
« on: March 09, 2017, 09:21:36 PM »
It's 2008 again, what advice would you have given yourself?

I am still very new to the whole investment world and I am trying to understand as much as I can. However, I often read to stay the course but how does one really know how one would react until you are are actually going through the ups & the downs.
I know it's been a few years but do you recall what help you personally to stay the course or what would have helped YOU stay the course?

Thank you for sharing! I'm not one to live in the past, but it can be very instrumental to learn from the past. For new ones like myself, we can sometimes think 'We Got This' but then we realize we were not fully prepared for what lies ahead.

Much Fishing to Do

• Handlebar Stache
Re: It's 2008 again.....
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2017, 06:54:40 AM »
If you're gonna do the investing thing and take any risk at all that will return rates above inflation, i think you have no choice but to 'stay the course' or you'll end up selling low.  Even seemingly good innocuous advice like "buy the dips" is tough in practice.  When the market fell 20% in 2007/8 i thought that was the greatest buying opportunity (I thought that was "the dip", but it then fell a ton more.

To stay course you have to know your risk tolerance.  I think thats where thinking about what you;d do in differing market times is when to think about that.  A lot of people made their portfolios much more conservative in 2008 or so thinking they were just following the advice of selecting their risk tolerance, but that risk tolerance seems to really be colored by the market at the time.  So when markets are at highs I like to ask myself am I too risky, and when they are at lows am I not risky enough, as the natural tendency is to ask yourself the opposite question at those times and act upon your answer.

theolympians