Author Topic: Is using my minimal retirement savings for down payment a terrible idea?  (Read 3928 times)

PaulM12345

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello,

I have a question about what to do about my retirement savings. The question is a little multifaceted, and please keep in mind I am kind of clueless about this kind of thing (although trying to clue myself in).

My family has no debt and we rent a house. We have been relatively thrifty over the years. I got some money for college from a relative about 10 years ago, and I worked in college so I managed to have about $16,000 left over when I graduated. About six years ago I entered a brief period of investment excitement, and I invested it in Vanguard funds. Unfortunately, I didn't stick with the S&P 500 funds - I put about half in a total international stock fund (VGTSX) and half in an emerging market find (VEIEX) - why? Because I let my gambling get the best of me, I think. (Neither seem to be doing that well compared to S&P.)  I have about $12K in Roth IRAs, and $4K in a regular Individual account.

Okay, sorry for all the background, on to my main questions: 1) Should I redistribute all of these funds in a better-allocated distribution? What are the costs of selling them all and rebuying? Still don't quite understand the IRA system enough to know if I'd lose out.

2) My wife and I want to buy a house. I won't go into whether or not this would be a good investment here, but let's assume it IS for the moment (and we're planning on paying it off quickly).