Author Topic: Is this good for now?  (Read 3897 times)

Bookworm

Is this good for now?
« on: January 26, 2016, 10:28:45 AM »
I am just starting out with handling investments on my own (newly divorced) and really don't know what I am doing. I know that I need to study jlcollinsnh and Bogleheads, but it is going to take some time for me to wrap my mind around the concepts and it would be really helpful if I could just get a heads up from MMM people if there's something glaringly obvious that I need to do right now.

My portion of our retirement savings arrived at Vanguard this morning, so this is how things look:

Checking: $1,273
Savings: $29,645 (this is at least 12 months of expenses)
Savings: $598
Vanguard Traditional IRA: $28,334 (VTSAX)
Vanguard Roth-IRA: 0 (opened but never funded)

A large portion of my income is precarious (child and spousal support) and my earned income is very low; this will probably be true for the next year or two. So I really feel like I need the large emergency fund. Still, it seems like it might be a good idea to slide some of my savings into the empty Roth-IRA because my tax liability right now is so low (??). I have no idea which fund (bonds, mutual funds, target date funds) to put it into.

I am also not sure what to do with any additional money that I manage to save beyond what I already have.

I am 43 years old, if that makes a difference. I will be entitled to a portion of my ex-husband's pension when he retires (I will be 53 when it begins), and it will continue for the rest of his life. There will be nothing else until I become eligible for Social Security (half of what he receives), so I am probably looking at traditional retirement age as my horizon.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2016, 07:21:22 AM by Bookworm »

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
Re: Is this good for now?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2016, 10:59:44 AM »